案例研究:东丽

“我如何看待我的工作是完全不同的......在一个好办法。”乔惠利先生,规划师/调度为东丽塑料美国评论最近Greycon项目。

“该Greycon解决方案提供专注于客户的需求,更在钻更深的层次......我现在还可以考虑到整个时间表,而不是看着每一个部分......我可以看到整个工厂更容易。 基本库存更好的利用。“

由于在生产塑料,化工,制药,和高性能薄膜的全球领导者,东丽塑料美国是需要一个系统来支持在北金斯敦,罗得岛州的制造业务。 该组织需要一个解决方案,与在用他们的ERP(SAP的)和制造执行系统(工厂应用从GE)集成了其复杂的调度问题生产,分切,金属化和转换高的解决方案,以取代他们的许多非标准化的系统功能薄膜。

之前的Greycon溶液中,调度是孤链路用于生产订单和客户的订单,一低于理想的情况。 他没有工具来帮助他优化的多个生产步骤和过程的执行顺序。 容量本身是用电子表格的帮助下管理并有错误显著潜力数据必须在多个地方被复制多次。

该Greycon解决方案允许东丽同时优化的几何形状(使用Greycon的X-修剪,即解决了主薄膜生产线和金属化步骤)和时间表(使用Greycon的S计划该调度所有生产阶段)。

metallizers的集成微调的薄膜生产线和基膜库存同时带来了产量的提高。 集成修整方法还允许调度计划更严格的目标数量时,减少溢出和减少客户装运错误。

它们的操作时间表的能见度现已在线和实时更新。 这是文书工作减少的一个重要组成部分,改善内部和外部沟通的生产人员,管理和销售组织。

为了更好地服务他们的客户提供更好,东丽开始更多地关注其maketo订单业务,所有的生产依赖于客户的订单。 有了更好的控制,可视性和使用S-计划的沟通,东丽已经做到了这一点。 惠利先生补充说,“一般情况下,”云现在快得多,而且代表活动的约95%,而特殊情况下(5%)为前大致采取相同的时间。 总体而言,Greycon工具提供了极大的节省了时间。

新系统也使得它更容易假设模拟执行。 经理会问,“会发生什么,如果...?”,而调度可以在几分钟内提供详尽,准确的答案。 在过去,这本来是用少得多的可靠性更长的过程。 决定是否在膜生产线或在金属化采取不可避免修剪废弃物(离切割)是一个困难,费时,且痛苦的过程。 现在可以容易地进行分析。

惠利先生指出,在过去几个月的制作人员已被要求执行一些艰难的赛程变化能够满足动态的客户的需求。

一个显著方好处是,整个工厂也更加专注于满足客户的需求。 该组织现在能够轻松地将客户信息联系在一起,以生产计划为员工在车间。 这使该组织变得更加专注于满足特定客户的需求。

Toray Case Study

“How I approach my job is totally different… in a good way.” Mr. Joe Whaley, Planner /Scheduler for Toray Plastics America commented on the recent Greycon project.

”The Greycon solution provides a more drilled in, deeper level of focus on customer’s needs… I can also now consider the entire schedule instead of looking at each part... I can see the whole plant easier. Base inventory is better utilized.”

As a world leader in the production of plastics, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, and high performance films, Toray Plastics America was in need of a system to support their manufacturing operations in North Kingstown, Rhode Island. The organization needed a solution to replace their many non-standardized systems with a solution that was integrated with their ERP (from SAP) and Manufacturing Execution System (Plant Apps from GE) for their complex scheduling issues in producing, slitting, metalizing and converting high performance films.

Prior to the Greycon solution, the scheduler was the solitary link for the production orders and the customer orders, a less-than-ideal situation. He had no tool to help him optimize the execution sequence of the multiple production steps and processes. Capacity itself was managed with the help of spreadsheets and there was significant potential for error as data had to be copied multiple times in multiple places.

The Greycon solution allows Toray to optimize both the geometry (using Greycon’s X-Trim, that addresses the primary film line and the metallization step) and the schedule (using Greycon’s S-Plan that schedules all production stages).

The integrated trimming of metallizers simultaneously with the film lines and base film inventory has brought an improvement in yield. The integrated trim process further allows the scheduler to plan much tighter to the targeted quantities, reducing overrun and minimizing customer shipment errors.

Visibility of their operations schedule is now available on-line and is updated in real time. This was an essential element of the reduction in paperwork and improved internal and external communications to the production staff, management, and the sales organization.

To serve their customers better, Toray began to focus more on its maketo-order business, where all production is tied to customer orders. With better control, visibility, and communication using S-Plan, Toray has accomplished this. Mr. Whaley adds that the “general case” goes much faster now, and represents about 95% of the activity, while the special cases (5%) take roughly the same time as before. Overall, the Greycon tools have provided tremendous time savings.

The new system also makes it much easier to perform what-if simulations. The manager will ask, “What would happen if…?”, and the scheduler can provide a detailed and accurate answer in minutes. In the past, it would have been a much longer process with much less reliability. Deciding whether to take unavoidable trim waste (off-cut) at the film line or at the metallizer was a difficult, time-consuming, and painful process. Now it can be easily analyzed.

Mr. Whaley noted that over the past several months that the production staff has been asked to perform some difficult schedule changes to be able to meet dynamic customer demand.

A significant side benefit has been that the entire plant is also more focused on meeting the customer’s needs. The organization is now able to easily tie together the customer information to the production plan for the staff on the shop floor. This has allowed the organization to become more focused on meeting the needs of a specific customer.