案例研究:成卷优化

一家加工厂如何通过33降低库存,并通过14降低加工浪费%

压力变得更有竞争力,降低成本,提高效率,减少浪费,降低库存,保持或提高服务的日常活动管理者在今天的市场。 有时,这些相互冲突的目标可以通过使用先进的规划和调度技术来满足。 本案例研究表明Greycon的卷Stock优化工具如何帮助管理者满足这些需求。 下面的案例研究记录RSO的一个上线转换操作与运行3每周移位5天的两片刀的影响。

工厂管理层察觉到修剪损失过高。 他们相信,他们可以减少库存更好的选择纸卷宽度的修剪损失。 工厂经理授权计划和库存团队用科学的方法来更好地了解卷库存的配置,并确定机会来改变辊宽度股票当前的选择。

直到然后为每个基地重量以及当前库存水平的宽度和宽度选择号码已被设置和谁在本能和经验,依靠资深分析师“精”了多年的传统和不断的推敲。

工厂经理使用Greycon的产品,一个简单的优化器通过互联网可以是从位于另一家工厂同行听到。 他意识到,该产品实际上是一个互联网订阅,每次计算提供了几毛钱,他小的操作使用最新,最先进的优化算法的能力。

像RSO软件的利用率起初有点争议,因为大多数察觉到寻找合适的大小是更受经验,而不是科学教一门艺术。

简单的使用RSO

第一步是在一个简单的电子表格,以提取级/基重客户订单。 然后数据被合并,以获得用于每个轧辊尺寸总数量。 第三步是剪切和粘贴数据到RSO的网站。 该RSO计算花了几秒钟,并立即提供了最好的纸卷宽度,建议储存和预期损失修剪量。 计算被考虑到的唯一参数和植物的限制。

对于每个基地重量,尺寸的多个号码是典型的分析。 然后,系统会建议辊每个数字理想宽度和估计浪费。 对于产品多达8-10宽度,系统会立即推荐更好的收益率与低至5宽度获得。 对于产品4-6宽度,该系统通常继续建议相同数量的宽度,但建议不同的宽度选择。 在所有情况下,该系统还建议理想的量在其上,操作基于其补货策略的每个宽度。

RSO的影响

在项目的开始,约2000吨卷库存,该厂将约1,000吨的平均装饰板材通常100吨每月纸。 而需求3个月所有的产品进​​行分析后仍典型性和辊宽度调整和库存水平审查,该工厂有大约1350吨的卷库存依然农膜纸相同数量与86吨平均修剪损失。

$ 96,000修剪节省

在这种情况下,使用最低值每吨($ 500),修剪还原保存的每月$ 8,300或96,000每年$(192吨)。 工厂经理的假设进行了辩护:更好的卷宽的组合却能最大限度地减少浪费。 但RSO的建议,对库存和客户服务等显著的影响。

$ 63,400节省库存

由于整体纸卷宽度的减少,该工厂能够降低剩余卷筒纸宽度的库存数量。 整体库存在过渡从2000万吨时期1350或33%的总还原后显著减少。 使用携带的18.5%库存为基础的平均成本,降低库存则每年可以节省约占63,400 $。

6000%的投资回报率

考虑到RSO认购的成本低,是仅一个星期使用的应用程序后,立即可见获得的回报。 对投资的总体回报超过6000%。 在这种情况下的上下文中,客户服务测量不受在策略的变化。 在平均,产物用相同的前置时间递送比之前和整体客户满意度期间保持恒定。 在其他方面,我们注意到,RSO的应用也期待更好的卷库存需求改善客户服务,允许更快的转身。

Case Study

How a Converting Plant Cut Its Inventory by 33% and Reduced its processing waste by 14%

Pressure to become more competitive, cut costs, improve efficiencies, reduce waste, reduce inventories, and maintain or improve service are day to day activities for managers in today's marketplace. Sometimes these conflicting objectives can be satisfied through the use of advanced planning and scheduling technologies. This case study shows how Greycon's Roll Stock Optimiser can help managers satisfy these needs. The following case study documents the impact of RSO for an on-line converting operation with a two-sheet cutter running 3 shifts 5 days per week.

The plant management perceived that trim loss was too high. They believed that they could reduce the trim loss with a better selection of roll widths in inventory. The plant manager mandated the scheduling and inventory team to use a scientific approach to better understand the configuration of roll inventory and to identify opportunity to change the current choices of roll stock widths.

The number of widths and widths selection until then for each bases weight as well as the current inventory levels had been set and "refined" over years of tradition and constant scrutiny by senior analysts who relied on instincts and experience.

The plant manager heard from a peer located at another plant using Greycon's product that a simple optimiser was available via the Internet. He realised that the product was in fact a internet subscription that provides a few cents per calculation the ability for his small operation to use the latest and most advanced optimisation algorithms.

The utilisation of software like RSO was a bit controversial at first since most perceived that identifying the right size was more an art taught by experience rather than science.

Simplicity of Using RSO

The first step was to extract in a simple spreadsheet the customer order by grade/base weight. The data was then consolidated to obtain the total quantity for each roll size. The third step was to cut-and-paste the data into the web site of the RSO. The RSO calculation took a couple seconds and presented immediately the best roll widths, the quantity recommended to store and expected trim loss. The calculation were taking into consideration the unique parameters and constraints of the plant.

For each base weight, multiple numbers of size were typically analyzed. The system would then recommend for each number of rolls the ideal width and the estimated waste. For the products with up to 8-10 widths, the system immediately recommended better yields obtain with as low as 5 widths. For the products with 4-6 widths, the system typically continues to recommend the same number of width but recommended different width selection. In all cases, the system also recommended ideal quantities for each width on which, the operation based its replenishment policy.

RSO Impact

At the beginning of the project, the plant with a roll inventory of about 2000 tons would typically sheet 1,000 tons of paper per month with an average trim of about 100 tons. While the demand remained typical after three months all the products were analysed and the roll width readjusted and inventory level reviewed, the plant had a roll inventory of about 1350 tons still sheeting the same amount of paper with an average trim loss of eighty-six tons.

$96,000 Trim Savings

In this context, using the lowest value per ton ($500), the trim reduction saved $8,300 per month or $96,000 per year (192 tons). The assumptions of the plant manager were vindicated: a better mix of roll width was able to minimize the waste. But the recommendations of RSO had other significant impact on inventory and customer services.

$63,400 Inventory Savings

Because the reduction of overall roll widths, the plant was able to lower the inventory quantities of the remaining roll widths. The overall inventory was reduced significantly after the period of transition from 2000 tons to 1350 or a total reduction of 33%. Using an average cost of carrying inventory of 18.5% as a base, the annual saving of reducing the inventory represent about $63,400.

6000% ROI

Considering the low cost of the RSO subscription, the payback was obtained immediately and visible after only one week of utilising the application. The overall return on the investment was over 6000%. In the context of this case, customer services measurements were not affected by the changes in policy. In average, the product was delivered with the same lead-time than before and the overall customer satisfaction remains constant during the period. In other context we have noted that the application of RSO also improve customer services by anticipation better the roll stock demand, allowing a quicker turn around.