案例分析:杜兰戈纸业公司

充分利用它 - 杜兰戈 - 格鲁吉亚纸业公司的裁剪优化

杜兰戈

杜兰戈格纸业公司,圣玛丽斯,佐治亚州,有能力生产涂层漂白板,未涂布纸,牛皮纸和档次410,000万吨的能力。

努力提高工作效率,提高工作效率,更快的反应客户的不断变化的需求,并提高盈利能力是当今生产计划一场持久战。 发现这些相互关联的,但有时相互冲突的目标之间的最佳平衡已经成为日常生活的一部分。 在当今快节奏和不断变化的世界,管理者驱动追求的工具,使他们能够快速地比较和评估替代解决方案。 这项工作计划生产,有助于组织价值的方式是什么驱使 杜兰戈格纸业公司 (原吉尔曼纸业公司),以检查用于自动微调优化系统的需要。 轧机知道他们需要实现更高的修整效率,而在同一时间不损害其灵活性,以满足他们的顾客的需要或反应以各种生产情况的能力。

杜兰戈格纸业公司有能力生产它的三台纸机涂布漂白板,未涂布纸,牛皮纸和档次410,000万吨的能力。 这种渐进的私营公司的重点是充分利用其现有资源获得最大的利益。 这包括一个非常注重适当的资金利用率,有效的员工生产力和一股不服输的重点放在关键业务流程。 他们充分利用他们有什么。 他们需要修剪优化系统,让他们以最佳平衡的机会和他们磨和业务的限制。

虽然杜兰戈格的生产计划都集中在一个厂区的供应链,就必须处理一些因素,使修剪规划一个具有挑战性的局面。 客户群和等级结构都非常多样化。 每台机器通过定期六十多个牌号的周期,每月定量的变化运行。 这会导致规划和客户订单服务的需求为一体的多元化是公正。 每台机器有193的造纸装饰“,217”和220一个坚定的复卷机“的典型客户纸卷宽度范围可以从6。”达110“从订单到订单迫使规划者只考虑一个非常小的恒定需求的变化轧辊宽度的百分比可能被视为“标准”的大小,或有价值的股票的大小。灵活的服务不断变化的客户需求是一个关键的竞争焦点,即使订单都非常接近上装载的机器。有限的地面空间正在生产基座和仓库也必须加以考虑的约束。

几乎每天早晨全年的生产计划进行更新,并与生产部门人员沟通。 主调度与机器周期覆盖七至十天,每天两个或三个级/单位面积重量变化手动生成。 内的每个单位面积重量也有可能是由于不同的直径,芯,风,和其它参数需要几个微调计划。 十五到二十装饰计划的平均生成每个工作日支持主进度计划。 每个修剪计划的复杂性和尺寸将根据许多因素而变化,但大多数计划被服用的调度从八到二十分钟正常的条件下产生。

修整计划中的业务目标

逻辑过程订单履行

在杜兰戈格纸业公司规划者专注于满足组织的目标。 这是在发现影响组织的整体性能的诸多动态微调相关因素之间的最佳平衡的心脏。 那规划者必须考虑的因素一个简单的分析包括机会和制约因素。 其中有些是; 机修剪效率,生产的合理配置,以满足客户的订单,满足客户的交货承诺,装载码头或WIP的制约,计划内的秩序蔓延最小化,适当的库存水平的限制,改刀最小化,独特的花纹最小化,特殊的生产限制,和值创建。 尽管所有这些因素评估修剪计划时都考虑到,修剪效率通常是成功的主要措施。 每一个因素但也可以加权取决于组织的在该特定时间点的感知需求的任何给定的问题更多或更少。 一个例子是围绕在网络出现故障修剪的成本尾款为三四个小时在电线孔直到有足够的工作人员随时作出改变的需要,还是更在额外的工作人员打电话给以改变丝越快。 另一个例子是,是否还是不添加低价值的库存辊成一个镶边计划,以便实现更高的效率。 所有装饰计划的影响因素应该在这些评价中,包括总成本与价值创造和客户需求的满足来考虑。

当这些微调计划的影响因素,各种卷大小,直径,磁芯尺寸,不同的风向和多机的可能性的数学组合相结合,创建了一个相当复杂的决策矩阵。 在与各卷绕机,挤出机,剪板机,以及需要被调度其他辅助计算机轧机,这些因素的变化可以成倍扩大。 当这个决定矩阵然后在不断变化的市场和需求的资料应用,它可以变得势不可挡。 来平衡这些因素创造最大的组织价值的解决方案将是最佳的解决方案。

这远远超出人工修整客户订单的传统功能,以适应机器的限制。 调度铅笔纸,加法机组合已经成为不足以满足在当今竞争激烈的市场中世界这一关键业务流程的大部分工厂。

搜索一个系统

寻找妥善履行需要优化微调的计划合适的工具是杜兰戈格(当时吉尔曼)在1997焦点。 通过对市场上合适的产品相当广泛搜索,被选定为进一步评价八家厂商。 评估这些系统的因素; 成本,用户友好,分析师功能,支持,硬件要求,易于实施和关系能力等现有系统。 最终,Greycon的X-修剪被选为最适合作为全面修剪优化解决方案。

其中一个印象深刻的调度人员早在1997的因素是确定一个金钱的价值,他们创造了装饰计划的能力。 该计划者不是“卖纸”,而是“让客户有时间在机器上'的概念是无法充分评估,直到这个工具被实施。 这改变了规划过程的理念,从注重消费“装修订单到机器”真正思考的影响,计划对本组织的任务的时间。 “最需要的是能够快速生成与最少的废物,低刀盘跌宕修剪计划,并满足客户的需求,”大小姐布拉策尔,客户服务/生产计划经理助理解释说。 “以前,我们只是没有时间去考虑需要考虑的一切。”

系统设计和实现

Greycon的微调优化系统已经被接口到大的各种关系数据库系统,包括Oracle,AS / 400,MS-SQL服务器,MS访问时,Sybase,Informix和其他人,最经常通过ODBC的。 另外,也可以接口到,利用平面文件或电子表格输入/输出系统,或者在一个完全独立的模式操作该系统。 该系统被设计为多用户操作,以便多个规划者可以在相同的数据库上同时工作,同时确保相同的顺序不会被修剪的两倍。 就像在造纸工业中许多工厂,Durango在综合信息系统方面面临着资源有限,系统设计和实施有创意,以满足策划人员的特殊业务需求。 修剪优化工具需要有接近实时信息。 在系统设计时的杜兰戈格订单输入系统是一个COBOL遗留系统这是一个HVS操作系统在服务器埃斯卡拉基于UNIX上运行。 需要修剪优化的信息下载到那里可以再由工作人员规划使用基于NT服务器的康柏。 该下载被设定为自动发生每隔15分钟。 的X修剪本身的工具是一个纯32位系统,它可以被安装在本地上的个人电脑或服务器上。 的X修剪现在运行在Windows或2000 NT平台。 杜兰戈决定对个人PC的安装。 这允许用户从自己的办公桌PC或笔记本电脑访问该工具在远程位置。 这项工作进行界面设计和实现,在十月开始1997,只花了大约三个星期,这是分布在三个月的时间。 与此同时策划者已开始使用该产品的培训后一天手动。 全面实施后,两个训练日进行了该项目在第一季度完成在1998。

最终产品

该系统杜兰戈,格鲁吉亚和Greycon共同实施由IS员工为导向,而不该信息导向系统中的任务看出。 对于复杂的系统集成的要求是不显着; 然而,有效地使用它确实收到了信息工具的力量是非常强大的。

高级算法

它采用先进设备,最先进的整数编程技术来保证答案最多的问题是:在垃圾方面优化和最优的设置(模式)的数量方面。 它还采用了先进的启发式尽量减少次要目标如刀割的变化和秩序蔓延。

图形编辑器

在杜兰戈规划者不得不可视化的基础上卷筒宽度,订单号,客户名称,以及与每个卷相关的其他信息修剪计划的能力。 它们也可以以图形编辑该屏幕上的解决方案。

的X trimknifeeditor

Greycon的X-修剪中图形编辑器允许多个标准被看作解决方案,然后进行编辑在屏幕上。 在杜兰戈格修剪效率被立即受到影响的重点是使大部分机器deckles的策划者。

造纸机故障和位置要求

该工具可以处理特定的顺序位置约束(例如“中等”,“没有离开”),也可与网络和造纸他们周围的多个缺陷处理。 “它可以轻松节省工作几个小时,当我在半夜来电retrim周围的缺陷,”美银行,生产计划员说。

多个主机选项

杜兰戈需要一个系统,可以与多种纸张处理设备时,可能会在一个以上的造纸机生产一个订单或等级。 该程序确定如何最好地按照优化和运行长度的限制分裂的问题。 这已被使用杜兰戈确定订单的一个等级或组将是最优化运行在其上的机器。 额外费用可以指定要考虑到,如果有从远程站点传输的额外费用。

可选的卷

规划者也经常使用一种叫做可选滚动功能。 这使得规划器输入可以被用于改善装饰效率,但不要求电流指令组中要制造的辊。 规划人员能够最大限度地减少未来的订单或库存的产生量。 保罗·布莱克蒙,高级销售和营销副总裁说:“我们专注于库存控制是由于其对现金流的负面影响,以及该陈旧存货正在以前所未有节奏的加快发生的事实。库存以适应JIT是不能接受的,我们必须更有效地专注于满足客户需求,我们的业务流程。“

换刀并设置最小化

该系统使用新颖的算法,以尽量减少刀的变化量和独特的图案的数量。 这些技术,其中的一些是基于遗传算法,工作而不影响溶液的浪费。 杜兰戈能够超过百分之二十与此应用程序最小化设置。

报告

的X修剪报告基于水晶报表,因此可以由最终用户完全定制的或局部的职工。 报告可以包括图形,条形码,位图和可能的各种格式,包括HTML,莲花1-2-3,Excel,Word和ODBC格式导出。 在杜兰戈,规划者能够提供给机器的人员,其中包括有关客户的喜好,命令参数,该解决方案模式,以及该计划的整体措施,变废物为百分比或英镑等信息的详细报告。 可通过报告等信息是包含在溶液中,其中所使用的在内部芯切割器中的轧辊宽度和芯尺寸的摘要。

的X trimgraph

规划人员可以评估图形根据多个条件不同的解决方案。 这些标准可以由规划器来选择。

组织的影响

实施的X微调的影响是立竿见影的。 在实现工具,它可能带来的潜在影响的有力度的调度程序,开始使用该系统通过手动,客户需求数据的密钥,直到IS的工作人员正准备实施进口接口。 在此过程中,该项目几乎收回了,然后才全面实施。 修剪效率受到近半%的改善。

这使磨机在不增加生产成本获得每天四个半吨。 这在第一年年底占比超过1600吨。 一个调度办公室往往有一个繁忙的地方的声誉,而是因为它是有可能被如此迅速地解决了这些复杂的数学问题,现在的策划者其实是有时间去考虑解决方案的影响,然后重新运行的问题,因为许多需要以达到所需的结果。 规划者们也能够以图形方式比较多个解决方案,以了解每个对所选装饰相关的因素,如设置窗口,垃圾发电,并履行订单产生影响。 参见图4。 除了这些成就,也出现了一些问题,实施后产生的。 一个错误早早就在推为实现更高的和更高的效率。 规划者偶尔会负担过太多的客户订单相结合的装卸区和航运船员取得更大的数学可能性。 该调度也能够实现机器工作人员不得不重新评估各种档次规定的最大造纸机修剪一致的基础上这样一个高效的装饰。 修剪计划实际上推动造纸机运营商寻求新的方式,成为在网络上更均匀一致。 这两种情况是通过在不同的工作人员之间的一些发自内心的对话解决。 改进的修剪计划导致需要被定义的业务流程,进行评价,并传达。

trimefficiency

因为实现产品能够更有效地和迅速地允许的可接受修剪计划的产生,用户感到压力较小以创建计划“早”。 他们能够等待更接近生产时以产生修剪的计划。 这是有几个原因是有益的,1)调度典型地有一个较大的组数据以尝试实现更高的效率,2)返工的量减少,是由变化的要求后的俯视到位造成的,并且3)客户要求的订单变更被认为更容易接受的过程所以是接受变化,满足客户的需求更小的阻力。 甚至还有情况下,当在车间正在生产一种新的优化微调计划接收来自客户的订单的一小时内。 这是一个意想不到的优点'越来越接近客户“。

总体来说,项目被认为是成功的,并只用了三个月使用该产品后,发生的全薪回来。 目前该系统已实行四年,像锤子一个熟练的木匠,已成为规划者的日常使用增加组织的价值的一个组成部分。 所需的五1997工作人员的任务,现在只需要两个人。 杜兰戈格坚守他们充分利用其资源的理念,目前在车间级应用该技术的过程中。 卷绕机人员将可以在质量缺陷或其他不可预见的条件下防止生产的原计划使用这种优化技术retrim。

什么是一个工厂做,以确保生产得到了适当的计划? 首先,使规划人员理解的复杂性和决策过程的结果的管理,必须提供适当的训练。 其次,他们也必须是绝对肯定的是,策划者了解该组织的目标。 这有时被忽视的需求,因为它假定策划者是在与组织目标板由于他/她多年的经验。 有从去这样的事情过去PIMA发布会报价,“这三个最有权势的人在世界上,美国,苏联总理,以及核潜艇的舰长总裁:他们忘了之一:那个谁日程论文机器“。 最后,规划必须提供一个用户友好的工具,快速,方便地帮助他/她在这往往复杂的决策过程。 该工具还必须为他们提供可视性分析努力创造组织价值这些决定的影响。

Case Study : Durango Paper Company

Making the Most of It - Trim Optimisation at Durango-Georgia Paper Company

durango

Durango-Georgia Paper Company, Saint Marys, Georgia, has the capacity to produce 410,000 tpy of coated bleach board, uncoated free sheet, and kraft grades.

Striving to increase productivity, improve efficiency, react quicker to customer's changing needs, and increase profitability is a constant battle for today's production planners. Finding the optimal balance between these interconnected, yet sometimes conflicting goals has become part of the daily routine. In today's fast paced and ever changing world, managers are driven to pursue tools that allow them to quickly compare and evaluate alternative solutions. This effort to plan production in a manner that contributes to organisational value is what drove Durango-Georgia Paper Company (formerly Gilman Paper Company) to examine the need for an automated trim optimisation system. The mill knew that they needed to achieve greater trim efficiencies, while at the same time not compromise their flexibility to meet their customer's needs or the ability to react to various production situations.

Durango-Georgia Paper Company has the capacity to produce 410,000 tpy of coated bleach board, uncoated free sheet, and kraft grades on its three paper machines. The focus of this progressive privately owned company is to fully utilise its available resources for maximum benefit. This includes a strong focus on appropriate capital utilisation, effective employee productivity, and an unyielding focus on critical business processes. They make the most of what they have. They needed a trim optimisation system that would allow them to optimally balance the opportunities and constraints of their mill and their business.

While the production planners for Durango-Georgia are focused on a single mill site supply chain, they must deal with a number of factors that make trim planning a challenging situation. The customer base and grade structure are both very diversified. Each machine regularly runs through cycles of more than sixty grades and basis weight changes per month. This causes the demands on planning and servicing of customer orders to be just as diversified. Each machine has a committed winder with deckle trims of 193", 217", and 220"; typical customer roll widths may range from 6" up to 110". Constant demand changes from order to order force the planners to consider only a very small percentage of roll widths that may be considered 'standard' sizes, or valuable stock sizes. Flexibility to service changing customer needs is a critical competitive focus, even if the orders are very close to being produced on the machines. Limited floor space on the loading docks and warehouse is also a constraint that must be taken into consideration.

Nearly each morning throughout the year, the production schedules are updated and communicated with the production staff. The master schedules are generated manually with machine cycles covering seven to ten days with two or three grade/basis weight changes per day. Within each basis weight there may be several trim plans required due to differing diameter, core, wind, and other parameters. An average of fifteen to twenty trim plans are generated each weekday to support the master schedule. The complexity and size of each trim plan will vary depending upon many factors, but most plans were taking a scheduler from eight to twenty minutes to generate under normal conditions.

Business Goals in Trim Planning

logical process to order fulfillment

Planners at Durango-Georgia Paper Company are focused on meeting organisational goals. This is at the heart of finding the optimal balance between the many dynamic trim related factors that affect the overall performance of the organisation. A simple analysis of the factors that the planners must consider includes both opportunities and constraints. Some of these are; machine trim efficiency, proper allocation of production to fulfill customer orders, meeting customer delivery promises, loading dock or WIP constraints, order spread minimisation within a plan, proper stock level constraints, knife change minimisation, unique pattern minimisation, special production constraints, and value creation. While all of these factors are taken into account when evaluating trim plans, trim efficiency is usually the dominant measure of success. Each of these factors however, may be weighted more or less for any given problem depending on the perceived demands of the organisation at that particular point of time. An example is the need to balance the cost of trimming around a fault in the web due to a hole in the wire for three or four hours until enough staff are on hand to make the change, or is it better to call in the extra staff to change the wire sooner. Another example is whether or not to add lower valued stock rolls into a trim plan in order to achieve a higher efficiency. All of the trim plan impacted factors should be considered in these evaluations including overall cost versus value creation and customer demand fulfillment.

When these trim plan impacted factors are combined with the mathematical combinations of various roll sizes, diameters, core sizes, differing wind directions, and multiple machine possibilities, it creates a rather complex decision matrix. In mills with various winders, extruders, guillotines, and other secondary machines that need to be scheduled, the variability of these factors may be expanded exponentially. When this decision matrix is then applied in an ever-changing market and demand profile, it can become overwhelming. The solution that balances these factors to create the greatest organisational value would be the optimal solution.

This goes well beyond the traditional capabilities of manual trimming customer orders to fit machine constraints. The scheduler-pencil-paper-adding machine combination has become insufficient to satisfy this critical business process in today's competitive world marketplace for most mills.

The Search for a System

Finding the right tool to properly fulfill the need to optimise trim plans was Durango-Georgia's (then Gilman) focus in 1997. Through a rather extensive search for suitable products on the market, eight vendors were selected for further evaluation. The factors to evaluate these systems were; cost, user friendliness, analyst capabilities, support, hardware requirements, ease of implementation, and relational ability to other existing systems. Ultimately, Greycon's X-Trim was selected as the best fit as a comprehensive trim optimisation solution.

One of the factors that impressed the scheduling staff back in 1997 was the ability to identify a dollars and cents value to the trim plans they were creating. The concept that the planners were not 'selling paper', but 'allowing the customer to have time on the machine' was not possible to adequately evaluate until this tool was implemented. This changed the philosophy of the planning process from focusing on the time consuming task of "fitting the orders to the machine" to actually thinking about the impact the plans had on the organisation. "The biggest need was to be able to quickly generate trim plans with minimal waste, low knife set ups, and that meet the customers' needs," explained Missy Brazell, Customer Service / Production Planning Assistant Manager. "Before, we just didn't have time to consider everything that needed to be considered."

System Design and Implementation

Greycon's trim optimisation system has been interfaced to a large variety of relational data base systems including Oracle, AS/400, MS-SQL Server, MS Access, Sybase, Informix and others, most frequently through ODBC. It is also possible to interface to systems that utilise flat file or spreadsheet input/outputs, or operate the system in a totally stand-alone mode. The system is designed for multi-user operation, so that multiple planners may work simultaneously on the same database, while ensuring that the same order does not get trimmed twice. Like many mills in the paper industry, Durango was faced with limited resources in terms of integrated information systems, the system design and implementation had be creative to meet the particular business needs of the planning staff. The trim optimisation tool needed to have near to real time information. The Durango-Georgia order entry system at the time of system design was a Cobol legacy system that is Unix based running on a HVS operating system in an Escala server. The information needed for trim optimisation was downloaded to an NT based Compaq server where it could then be used by the planning staff. This download was set to occur automatically every fifteen minutes. The tool of X-Trim itself is a pure 32-bit system that may be installed either locally on a pc or on a server. X-Trim now runs on Windows 2000 or NT platform. Durango decided to install it on individual pc's. This allows the users to access the tool from their desk pc or from a laptop in a remote location. The work to perform the interface design and implementation, beginning in October 1997, took only about three weeks, which was spread over a three-month period. In the meantime the planners were beginning to use the product manually after one day of training. After full implementation, two more days of training were conducted and the project was complete in the first quarter in 1998.

The End Product

The system Durango-Georgia and Greycon jointly implemented is seen by the IS staff as a task oriented rather that information oriented system. The requirement for complex system integration was not substantial; however the power of the tool to effectively use the information it did receive was extremely powerful.

Advanced Algorithms

It employs state-of-the-art integer programming techniques to guarantee that answers to most problems are: optimal in terms of waste and optimal in terms of number of setups (patterns). It also employs advanced heuristics for minimizing secondary objectives such as knife changes and order spread.

Graphic Editor

The planners at Durango have the ability to visualise the trim plans based on roll width, order number, customer names, and other information associated with each roll. They can also graphically edit the solution on this screen.

x-trimknifeeditor

Graphic Editor within Greycon's X-Trim allows the solution to be viewed by multiple criteria and then edited on screen. Trim efficiencies at Durango-Georgia were immediately impacted as planners focused on making the most of the machine deckles.

Paper Machine Faults and Position Requirements

The tool can deal with order-specific position constraints (e.g. "middle", "not left"), but also it can cope with multiple imperfections on the web and deckle around them. "It can easily save a couple hours of work when I get calls in the middle of the night to retrim around defects," said Darby Banks, Production Planner.

Multiple Primary Machine Options

Durango needed a system that could cope with multiple paper machines when one order or grade may be produced on more than one paper machines. The program determines how best to split the problem according to optimisation and run length constraints. This has been used by Durango to determine which machine a grade or group of orders will be most optimally run on. Additional costs may be specified to take into account if there is extra cost of transporting from a distant site.

Optional Rolls

The planners also frequently use a feature called optional rolls. This allows the planner to input a roll that may be used to improve the trim efficiency, but is not required to be manufactured in the current order group. The planner is able to minimize the amount of future order or inventory generation. Paul Blackmon, Senior Vice President of Sales and Marketing said, "Our focus on inventory control is due to the negative impacts that it has on cash flow, as well as the fact that inventory obsolescence is occurring at an ever quickening pace. Inventory to accommodate JIT is not acceptable, we must focus our business processes on satisfying customer demands more efficiently."

Knife Change and Set Up Minimisation

The system employs innovative algorithms to minimise the amount of knife changes and the number of unique patterns. These techniques, some of which are based on genetic algorithms, work without affecting the waste of the solution. Durango was able to minimise setups by over twenty percent with this application.

Reporting

Reports in X-Trim are based on Crystal Reports and can therefore be customised completely by the end-user or local IS staff. Reports can include graphics, bar-codes, bitmaps and may be exported in a variety of formats, including HTML, Lotus 1-2-3, Excel, Word and ODBC formats. At Durango, the planners are able to provide a detailed report to the machine personnel that includes information about customer preferences, order parameters, patterns of the solution, as well as overall measures of the plan, such as waste as a percentage or in pounds. Other information available through reporting is a summary of the rolls widths and core sizes contained within the solution, which is used by the in-house core cutters.

x-trimgraph

Planners may evaluate different solutions graphically based on multiple Criteria. These criteria may be selected by the planner.

The Organisational Impact

The impact of implementing X-Trim was immediate. The schedulers upon realising the powerfulness of the tool and the potential impact it could bring, began using the system by manually, keying in customer demand data until the IS staff was ready to implement an interfaced import. In doing so, the project nearly paid for itself before it was fully implemented. Trim efficiencies were improved by nearly half a percent.

This allowed the mill to gain four and a half tons per day at no additional production cost. This accounted for more than 1600 tons by the end of the first year. A scheduling office often has the reputation of a hectic place, but because it was possible for these complex mathematical problems to be solved so quickly, the planners now actually had time to consider the impact of the solution and then rerun the problem as many as needed to achieve the desired result. The planners were also able to graphically compare multiple solutions to see how each had an effect on selected trim related factors, such as set ups, waste generation, and order fulfillment. See Figure 4. In addition to these successes, there were also some problems that arose after implementation. One mistake early on was made in the push to achieve higher and higher efficiencies. The planners would occasionally over burden the loading areas and shipping crews by combining too many customer orders together to achieve greater mathematical possibilities. The schedulers were also able to achieve such an efficient trim on a consistent basis that the machine staff had to reevaluate the defined maximum paper machine trims for various grades. The trim plans were actually pushing the paper machine operators to look for ways to become more uniformly consistent across the web. Both of these situations were resolved through some heartfelt conversations between the various staffs. The improved trim plans caused the need for the business processes to be defined, evaluated, and communicated.

trimefficiency

Because the implemented product was able to more effectively and quickly allow the generation of acceptable trim plans, the users felt less pressure to create the plans 'early'. They were able to wait closer to the time of production to generate the trim plans. This was beneficial for several reasons, 1) the scheduler typically had a larger group of data to attempt to achieve a higher efficiency, 2) the amount of rework was reduced that was caused by changing demands after a plan was in place, and 3) customer requested order changes were deemed more acceptable to the process so there was less resistance to accepting the changes to meet the customer's needs. There have even been cases when a newly optimised trim plan is being produced on the shop floor within the hour of receiving the order from the customer. This was an unexpected advantage of 'getting closer to the customer.'

Overall the project was deemed successful and after only three months of using the product, full pay back occurred. The system has been in place for four years now and like a hammer to a skilled carpenter, has become an integral part of adding value to the organisation by the planner's daily use. The task that required a staff of five in 1997, now only requires two persons. Durango-Georgia staying true to their philosophy of making the most of their resources is now in the process of applying this technology at the shop floor level. The winder crews will be able to use this optimisation technology for retrim when quality defects or other unforeseen conditions prevent the original plan from being produced.

What is a mill to do to ensure that production is being planned properly? First, the management must provide proper training so that the planner understands the complexity and the outcome of the decision making process. Second, they must also be absolutely certain that the planner understands the goals of the organisation. This is sometimes an overlooked need because it is assumed that the planner is on board with the organisational goals due to his/her years of experience. There was a quote from a past PIMA conference that went something like this, "The three most powerful people in the world are, the president of the United States, the premier of the Soviet Union, and the captain of a nuclear submarine:they forgot one: the guy who schedules your paper machine." Last, the planner must be provided a user-friendly tool that will quickly and easily assist him/her in this often-complex decision-making process. This tool must also provide them with the visibility to analyse the impact of those decisions towards creating organisational value.