案例研究:BPX电影

情况

布莱斯是重量轻的膜的快餐包装和相关用途的主导转换器。 努力的重点是服务于美国的三个具体的市场:

  • 休闲食品包装
  • 糖果和高性能包装
  • 文档保护

BPX片,布赖斯的全资子公司,位于得克萨斯州休斯敦。

该项目的主要经营目标是围绕提高通过获得修剪模式将少了“边缘浪费”在工厂生产的塑料薄膜卷大师的产量。 这是通过首先强调分切机效率与分切机效率和瓶颈状况的影响微乎其微获得了“倾斜平衡的其他方式。”

一些生产的需要去一个辅助计算机(例如金属化)为薄膜的额外的处理。 发送到辅助机器应该利用最这些机器的宽度,以获得最佳设备效率和进来的少不同宽度尽可能的“母卷”,以优化纸卷处理。

这些结果不得不同时保持顾客的公差范围内产生数量被获得,如服务质量保持业务的关键要素。 会议决定,在实现这些目标的关键因素将是一个软件包,这将是高度可配置的,持续提供更好的结果,并方便用户使用。 BPX选择基于Greycon的,以满足通过描述业务流程很好地说明许多BPX要求的能力Greycon的X-修剪产品。

的X微调也被用来削减从可用库存卷筒小订单。 这里,X-修剪的来自许多不同的母卷大小修剪才能使调度的工作效率非常高。

组态

的X修剪被配置为在用户的个人工作站上运行,在Windows 2000运行,和访问数据中心的位置的文件服务器上。

数据的导入使用当前完成“复制和粘贴”X-微调的功能,以在Excel电子表格写订单的小程序。 更通常的“直接”的界面,预计到位在当前系统升级。

选定的溶液回BPX生产跟踪系统的出口是通过一个导出文件,这是由一个特设的程序,然后在植物的数据库,在那里他们成为由操作访问的集成了新切刀图案读完成。

业务流程

在薄膜生产厂的用户定期激活程序提取特定产品的所有目前的订单到Excel电子表格。 使用“复制和粘贴”X-微调的功能,这些订单随后被带入的X修剪的主程序。

用户然后开始优化以获得一组将产生最少的修剪浪费的命令模式。 用户也将经常运行替代优化,以获得不同的解决方案,有时会更适合于这种情况。

用户检查若干参数 - 边缘修剪废弃物,套在溶液中的编号,不同的“物理”的模式,的切刀的变化数号码 - 并选择其中溶液是最适合的运行的需要。 在某些情况下,他或她可修改一些参数,例如,添加一种或两种外的周期命令,以改善结果,将获得一个新的解决方案。

一旦用户满意的解决方案,用户验证(“释放”)它,并且该解决方案的模式被自动发送到工厂的生产跟踪系统,在那里它们由切刀运营变得可见。

下面是无需二次处理的典型的X修剪的解决方案:

bpx2

注意很低废物百分比(0.789%)和轧辊的对准以得到少量的切刀的变化。

在需要二次加工(如金属化)的情况下,解决方案可能如下所示:

bpx1

请注意,只有两个母卷(28.25和41.5)的大小不同,即使虚线清楚地表明,不同的大小会从它们被削减。

因素:优化浪费

由于许多尺寸的修剪对应回头客,有房的大多数订单溢出的耐受性。 这样的X微调,以获得少量的装饰浪费非常有效的解决方案。

当需要一些订单的次级过程中,则X-修剪也有可能母卷大小之间“杂耍”的可能性,同时利用副机以有效的方式来获得主挤出机的最大宽度的最佳利用。

侧辊:在某些情况下,当尺寸的组合不会产生极好很好的解决方案中,用户已在几个“侧滚”尺寸,其通常会变成潜在修剪废为可供出售辊扔的能力。 这是在小鼠只需点击几完成,和侧辊自动集成到工厂的生产跟踪系统。

因素:优化库存使用

小,急的订单一般从现有库存削减卷。 的X修剪的“股票滚”选项允许用户指定许多股票的卷如何提供一个给定的等级和多达八个不同的宽度。 订单然后以相同的方式作为标准过程进口,和X-修剪计算最有效地利用股票辊的生产订单。

作为额外的奖励,允许用户指定的宽度的部分(或全部)的最低使用量。 这使得用户,例如,为了迅速摆脱一些股票的卷尺寸都不是标准的。

因素:优化生产时间

为了减少非生产时间花费定位分切机的量,是X-修剪通过减少到最低限度的图案,以产生的数量和通过测序生产减少的变化最小化刀动作它是必不可少的。

在某些情况下,其中主切刀已成为一个瓶颈,一个替代修剪计算算法是提供给用户,谁可以选择具有修剪浪费和模式和刀改变的次数之间的一些权衡。

流程改进汇总

的改进的值在此总结的重叠描述并没有适当的调整,不能分离。

  • 减少产品浪费。 据估计,废物的1.0%的平均降低。 该淘汰的废旧产品,而不是出售。 与每吨和平均年产量1,500吨16,000 $的平均值,这将对应于$ 240,000的每年节省。
  • 减少非战略性溢出。 通过保持量公差范围内微调的解决方案,预计从8%削减非战略性超限至4%。 这种非战略性溢出导致的成本各类:储货成本,为了推销其返工超限费用(超限20%必须返工出售); 而最终溢出的成本从未被出售(超限1%)。 这些加起来就是一个数字比600,000 $每年多。
  • 改进的客户订单满足率(无下运行)。
  • 库存增加转弯。
  • 减少母卷的大小。 对于需要(例如金属化)的二次处理订单中,X修剪产生具有少数不同母卷尺寸的解决方案。 这简化了纸卷处理,减少浪费纵向和优化二次加工,具有较少的宽度变化。
  • 减少用户修整的时间。 一位热心的调度告诉我们,通过使用X修剪获得的节省时间几乎比修剪浪费储蓄更好。 他现在可以花更多的时间致力于改善客户服务。
  • 的X修剪用户满意度。 这是有趣的使用的是X-修剪。 规划人员要做好本职工作。 的X修剪它们提供了一个工具,使他们他们所创造的解决方案,对组织的影响很大知名度。 该工具非常直观,快捷; 它允许规划人员作出组织一个显著,积极的贡献。 - X-修剪的易用性有利于知识的传播:备用用户已经能够进入这份工作更容易和更一致的解决方案,从而减轻对关键人员的依赖。

客户意见

的X微调给了我们对我们的布莱斯订单,这占我们量1%70一%的浪费减少。 这正是符合我们的预期,SO x的微调并没有让我们失望。 幼龙,调度,BPX薄膜(休斯顿)。

在节省时间是巨大的,几乎比浪费储蓄的更好! 我现在可以集中精力提高客户服务水平。 幼龙,调度,BPX薄膜(休斯顿)。

当我们的分切成为一个瓶颈,我切换到备用算法,并获得更少的模式的解决方案。 我们最终做这个我们运行约10%。 当瓶颈解决后,我切换回普通的算法,这给了我最好的减废。 幼龙,调度,BPX薄膜(休斯顿)。

的X修剪可以让我利用我们的股票辊和超限卷以​​最少的废物,并在非常时期,有效的方式。 西尔维亚·威尔逊,调度,BPX薄膜(休斯顿)。

Case Study: BPX films

Situation

Bryce is the dominant converter of light-weight film for snack packaging and related uses. Efforts are focused to serve three specific markets in the United States:

  • Snack Food Packaging
  • Candy and High Performance Packaging
  • Document Protection

bpx films, a wholly owned subsidiary of Bryce, is located in Houston, Texas.

The primary business objectives of this project revolved around improving the yield of the plastic film master rolls produced at the plant by obtaining trim patterns will less "edge waste". This was to be obtained with minimal impact on slitter efficiency and in bottleneck situations, "tilt the balance the other way" by emphasizing slitter efficiency first.

Some of the production needs to go to a secondary machine (e.g. a metallizer) for additional processing of the film. The "parent rolls" sent to the secondary machines should utilize the most of the width of those machines for best equipment efficiency and come in as few different widths as possible to optimize roll handling.

These results had to be obtained while keeping quantities produced within the customers' tolerances, as quality of service remains the key element of the business. It was decided that a key enabler in achieving these objectives would be a software package that would be highly configurable, deliver consistently better results, and be user-friendly. BPX selected Greycon's X-Trim product based on Greycon's ability to meet numerous BPX requirements best illustrated by describing the business processes.

X-Trim is also used to cut small orders from available stock rolls. Here, X-Trim's ability to trim from many different parent roll sizes makes the scheduler's work extremely efficient.

Configuration

X-Trim is configured to run on users' individual workstations, running on Windows 2000, and accessing data centrally located on a file server.

The import of data is currently done using the "copy and paste" feature of X-Trim with a small program that writes the orders in an Excel Spreadsheet. A more usual "direct" interface is expected to be put in place when the current system is upgraded.

The export of the selected solution back to BPX's production tracking system is done through an export file, which is read by an ad hoc program that then integrates the new slitter patterns in the plant's database, where they become accessible by the operators.

Business Process

The user at the film production plant activates periodically a program to extract all current orders of a given product into an Excel spreadsheet. Using the "copy and paste" feature of X-Trim, these orders are then brought into X-Trim's main program.

The user then starts the optimizer to get a set of patterns that will produce the orders with minimal trim waste. The user will also often run the alternative optimizer to obtain different solutions that will sometimes be better suited to the situation.

The user examines a number of parameters -- edge trim waste, number of sets in the solution, number of different "physical" patterns, number of slitter changes -- and chooses which solution is best suited to the run's needs. In some cases, he or she can modify some parameters for example, adding one or two out-of-cycle orders, to improve the results and obtain a new solution.

Once the user is satisfied with a solution, the user validates ("releases") it, and the solution's patterns are automatically sent to the plant's production tracking system, where they become visible by the slitter operators.

Below is a typical X-Trim solution without secondary processing:

bpx2

Note the very low waste percentage (0.789%) and the alignment of rolls to give a small number of slitter changes.

In cases where secondary processing (like metallizing) is required, the solution may look like the following:

bpx1

Note that there are only two different sizes of parent rolls (28.25 and 41.5) even though the dotted lines clearly show that different sizes will be cut from them.

Factors: Optimizing Waste

Since many of the sizes trimmed correspond to repeat business, there is room for overrun tolerance on most orders. This allows X-Trim to obtain extremely efficient solutions with small amounts of trim waste.

When a secondary process is required for some of the orders, then X-Trim also has the possibility of "juggling" between possible parent roll sizes to get optimal use of the maximum width of the primary extruder while utilizing the secondary machine in an efficient manner.

Side rolls: in some cases, where the mix of sizes does not produce an excellent good solution, the user has the ability to throw in a few "side roll" sizes, which will typically turn potential trim waste into sellable rolls. This is done in just a few clicks of the mouse, and the side rolls are automatically integrated into the plant's production tracking system.

Factors: Optimizing Inventory Use

Small, urgent orders are typically cut from available stock rolls. The "stock roll" option of X-Trim allows the user to specify how many stock rolls are available for a given grade and in up to eight different widths. Orders are then imported in the same manner as the standard process, and X-Trim calculates the most efficient use of the stock rolls to produce the orders.

As an added bonus, the user is allowed to specify a minimum usage of some (or all) of the widths. This allows the user, for example, to quickly get rid of some stock rolls whose sizes are not standard.

Factors: Optimizing Production Time

To reduce the amount of non-productive time spent positioning slitters, it is essential that X-Trim minimize knife movements by reducing to a minimum the number of patterns to produce and by sequencing the production to minimize changes.

In some cases, where the primary slitter has become a bottleneck, an alternative trim calculation algorithm is available to the user, who may choose to have some trade-off between trim waste and the number of patterns and knife changes.

Process improvement summary

The values of the improvements described in this summary overlap and cannot be separated without proper adjustments.

  • Reduced product waste. It is estimated that waste was reduced an average of 1.0%. The eliminated waste was instead sold as product. With an average value of $1,500 per ton and an average yearly production of 16,000 tons, this would correspond to a yearly savings of $240,000.
  • Reduced non-strategic overrun. By keeping trim solutions within quantity tolerances, a reduction of non-strategic overrun from 8% to 4% was expected. This non-strategic overrun causes costs in various types: cost of carrying stock, cost of reworking overrun in order to sell it (20% of overrun must be reworked to be sold); and cost of overrun that ends up never being sold (1% of the overrun). These add up to a figure more than $600,000 yearly.
  • Improved customer order fill rate (no under-run).
  • Increased inventory turns.
  • Reduction in parent roll sizes. For orders where a secondary process is required (e.g. metallizing), X Trim produces solutions with a small number of different parent roll sizes. This simplifies roll handling, reduces lengthwise waste, and optimizes the secondary process, which has fewer width changes.
  • Reduction in user trimming time. An enthusiastic scheduler told us that the timesavings obtained through the use of X-Trim are almost better than the trim waste savings. He may now spend more time working to improve customer service.
  • X-Trim user satisfaction. It is fun to use X-Trim. Planners want to do their jobs well. X-Trim offers them a tool that gives them great visibility of the organizational impact of the solutions they create. The tool is intuitive and quick; it allows the planner to make a significant, positive contribution to the organization. - X-Trim's ease of use facilitates the spread of knowledge: Alternate users have been able to step into the job more easily and with more consistent solutions thereby easing reliance on key personnel.

Customer comments

X-Trim has given us a 1% waste reduction on our Bryce orders, which account for 70% of our volume. This is exactly in line with our expectations, so X Trim hasn't let us down. David Long, Scheduler, bpx films (Houston).

The timesavings are tremendous, almost better than the waste savings! I can now concentrate on improving customer service. David Long, Scheduler, bpx films (Houston).

When our slitter becomes a bottleneck, I switch to the alternate algorithm, and get a solution with fewer patterns. We end up doing this for about 10% of our runs. When the bottleneck is resolved, I switch back to the regular algorithm, which gives me the best waste reduction. David Long, Scheduler, bpx films (Houston).

X-Trim allows me to utilize our stock rolls and overrun rolls with minimal waste and in a very time-efficient manner. Sylvia Wilson, Scheduler, bpx films (Houston).